Thoughts on the Bournemouth half marathon yesterday

  • Hengistbury Head is nice. Outdoors-y but with a nice cafe and visitor centre

  • lovely route…I didn’t realise how much I missed the sea

  • the steep climb, at about 8 miles, up the side of Boscombe Chine was…. challenging (swears omitted here)

  • just two portaloos at the three mile point is nowhere near enough

  • we were lucky with the weather

  • I didn’t win

  • trying to spot my young, bearded, skinny chum coming the other away among lots and lots of other young, bearded, skinny people is enough to make you go cross-eyed. It’s like an endurance version of Where’s Wally

  • it’s a nice medal. It looks a bit on-the-nose, but the detail is nice

  • I’m very grateful to the organisers and volunteers for putting it on

A medal with the text "13.1 Bournemouth" is shown with a blurred background.